National Blue Ribbon 2012: 21 Illinois schools

The US Education Department announced the winners of the National Blue Ribbon Friday. In Illinois, 21 schools made the list, including two high schools, both public high schools in Chicago, and eight private schools.

Education Secretary Arne Duncan made the announcement at Arlington Traditional School in Virginia. Principal Holly Hawthorne noted that the school’s focus on academics, behavior, and character is the foundation of its success.

“Behavior and dress standards help create a safe and inviting learning environment, and strong partnerships with families and the community foster each child’s whole development,” she was quoted on the US ED blog as saying. “Our students leave Arlington Traditional School as lifelong learners and future caring and contributing citizens.”

Writes Aba Kumi, the director of the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program at the US Education Department:

The 269 schools recognized this year represent 40 states, the District of Columbia and the Department of Defense Education Activity. National Blue Ribbon Schools are the “best in their class,” public and private elementary and secondary schools that produce outstanding results for all students. While all National Blue Ribbon schools have one thing in common–high or improving academic achievement –each great school has an inspiring story to tell about excellence in teaching and learning.

Illinois Schools Named 2012 National Blue Ribbon Schools

Bryan Middle School, Elmhurst
Principal: Mr. John Glimco
School District: Elmhurst SD 205

Charter Oak Primary School, Peoria
Principal: Mr. John Wetterauer
School District: Peoria Public School District 150

Fry Elementary School, Naperville
Principal: Ms. Moira Arzich
School District: Indian Prairie CUSD 204

Glen Oaks Elementary School, Hickory Hills
Principal: Ms. Gaylyn Grimm
School District: North Palos SD 117

Gower Middle School, Burr Ridge
Principal: Mrs. Rebecca Laratta
School District: Gower SD 62

John L. Nash Middle School, Clifton
Principal: Mrs. Victoria Marquis
School District: Central CUSD 4

Jones College Prep High School, Chicago
Principal: Dr. Paul Powers
School District: City of Chicago SD 299

Kildeer Countryside Elementary School, Long Grove
Principal: Mrs. Jennifer Smith
School District: Kildeer Countryside CCSD 96

Lane Technical High School, Chicago
Principal: Dr. Antoinette LoBosco
School District: City of Chicago SD 299

Lincoln Elementary School, Elmhurst
Principal: Ms. Kathleen Tomei
School District: Elmhurst SD 205

Roosevelt Middle School, River Forest
Principal: Mr. Larry Garstki
School District: River Forest SD 90

St. Athanasius School, Evanston
Principal: Mrs. Susan Castagna
School District: Archdiocese of Chicago

St. Francis Xavier School, Wilmette
Principal: Mr. Daniel McKenna
School District: Archdiocese of Chicago

St. John of the Cross Parish School, Western Springs
Principal: Mrs. Kathleen Gorman
School District: Archdiocese of Chicago

St. Luke Parish School, River Forest
Principal: Mrs. Barbara Rasinski
School District: Archdiocese of Chicago

St. Mary of the Woods School, Chicago
Principal: Mr. Patrick Kelly
School District: Chicago Archdiocese

St. Patrick School, Washington
Principal: Dr. Sharon Weiss
School District: Diocese of Peoria

Ss Peter & Paul School, Naperville
Principal: Mr. Frank Glowaty
School District: Diocese of Joliet

School of St. Mary, Lake Forest
Principal: Dr. Venette Biancalana
School District: Archdiocese of Chicago

Tri-Valley Middle School, Downs
Principal: Mr. Doug Roberts
School District: Tri Valley CUSD 3

White Eagle Elementary School, Naperville
Principal: Mr. Jon Vogel
School District: Indian Prairie CUSD 204

About the Author

Paul Katula
Paul Katula is the executive editor of the Voxitatis Research Foundation, which publishes this blog. For more information, see the About page.