National Blue Ribbon 2013 – 21 Illinois schools

US Secretary of Education Arne Duncan on Sept 24 announced the names of 286 schools identified by the department as the National Blue Ribbon Schools for 2013.

Schools were selected for this honor based on their overall academic excellence or their progress in improving student academic achievement.

“Excellence in education matters, and we should honor the schools that are leading the way to prepare students for success in college and careers,” Mr Duncan said in a press release. “National Blue Ribbon Schools represent examples of educational excellence, and their work reflects the belief that every child in America deserves a world-class education.”

Fifty private schools were among the awardees this year, including 10 from Illinois. Unlike public schools, which are nominated by the top education official in each state, private schools are nominated by the Council for American Private Education. Mr Duncan’s office then requests applications from each of the nominated schools—and quite an extensive application, I might add—for possible recognition as a National Blue Ribbon School.

Lincoln Elementary School, Morton, Ill.

From Illinois, 11 public schools, including one charter school, made the list. All Illinois schools were elementary or middle schools.

Founded in 1982, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program recognizes public and private schools. A National Blue Ribbon Schools flag overhead has become a mark of excellence in education recognized by everyone from parents to policymakers in thousands of communities. Since the program’s founding, the US Department of Education has bestowed this coveted award on more than 7,000 of America’s schools.

We apologize for our delay in bringing you this news, but the Illinois State Board of Education, as of our publication date, has issued no release with this information.

List of Illinois’s National Blue Ribbon 2013 schools

Frazier International Magnet School, Chicago
Principal: Mr. Faren D’Abell
School District: Chicago Public Schools

Greenbriar Elementary School, Northbrook
Principal: Mrs. Jennifer Able
School District: Northbrook School District 28

Lincoln Elementary School, Morton
Principal: Mrs. Sheila Taylor
School District: Morton CUSD 709

Mark T. Skinner West Elementary School, Chicago
Principal: Mrs. Deborah Clark
School District: Chicago Public Schools

Northside Catholic Academy, Chicago
Principal: Ms. Debra Sullivan
School District: Archdiocese of Chicago

Our Lady of Mount Carmel Academy, Chicago
Principal: Mr. Shane Staszcuk
School District: Archdiocese of Chicago

Prairie Crossing Charter School, Grayslake
Principal: Mrs. Kathleen Lynch
School District: Prairie Crossing Charter School

Queen of Angels School, Chicago
Principal: Mrs. Julia Byrns Kelly
School District: Archdiocese of Chicago

Roslyn Road Elementary School, Barrington
Principal: Mr. Paul Kirk
School District: Barrington Community Unit School District 220

Saint Andrew School, Chicago
Principal: Mr. Allen Ackermann
School District: Archdiocese of Chicago

St. Francis Xavier School, La Grange
Principal: Ms. Debra Rodde
School District: Archdiocese of Chicago

St. Joan of Arc School, Evanston
Principal: Mrs. Carrie Hampson
School District: Archdiocese of Chicago

St. Michael School, Orland Park
Principal: Mrs. Bernadette Cuttone
School District: Archdiocese of Chicago

Saint Norbert School, Northbrook
Principal: Ms. Rosanne Sikich
School District: Archdiocese of Chicago

St. Peter Lutheran School, Arlington Heights
Principal: Mr. Bruce Rudi

Sandburg Middle School, Elmhurst
Principal: Ms. Amy Read
School District: Elmhurst SD 205

Scott Elementary School, Scott Air Force Base
Principal: Ms. Cindy Presnell
School District: Mascoutah CUSD 19

The Skokie School, Winnetka
Principal: Ms. April Jordan
School District: Winnetka School District 36

Twin Groves Middle School, Buffalo Grove
Principal: Mrs. Heather Friziellie
School District: Kildeer Countryside CCSD 96

United North Elementary School, Alexis
Principal: Mrs. Sue Wilson
School District: United CUSD 304

Wescott Elementary School, Northbrook
Principal: Dr. Terri Carman
School District: Northbrook/Glenview SD 30

About the Author

Paul Katula
Paul Katula is the executive editor of the Voxitatis Research Foundation, which publishes this blog. For more information, see the About page.