National Blue Ribbon Schools 2014 – 22 in Illinois

The US Department of Education announced the 2014 National Blue Ribbon Schools in a webcast ceremony this afternoon. Over all, 337 schools, including 50 private schools, received the honor today from 47 states, the US Virgin Islands, and the Department of Defense in Germany and Japan.

The National Blue Ribbon Schools Program honors public and private elementary, middle, and high schools where students either achieve very high learning standards or are making notable improvements in closing the achievement gap. The award affirms the hard work of students, educators, families and communities in creating safe and welcoming schools where students master challenging content.

“These great schools are fulfilling the promise of American education: that all students, no matter their socioeconomic status or zip code, can flourish when schools provide safe, creative, and challenging learning environments,” said US Education Secretary Arne Duncan. “We celebrate them for their tireless effort and boundless creativity in reaching and teaching every student.”

Specifically, for the 2013-2014 award year, the department strengthened its consideration during the application review process of the performance of individual subgroups within a school and of improvements made in graduation rates.

Here are the 22 Illinois schools:

From Illinois, 22 schools (13 public, 9 Catholic)

Barbara B. Rose Elementary School
South Barrington (Barrington CUSD 220)
Principal: Mr. Derek Straight

Brook Forest Elementary School
Oak Brook, (Butler School District 53)
Principal: Mrs. Kelly Voliva

Fairview Elementary School
Hoffman Estates (Schaumburg CCSD 54)
Principal: Mrs. Judy Gurga

The High School of Saint Thomas More
Champaign (Roman Catholic)
Principal: Mr. Ryan Bustle

Holy Cross School
Deerfield (Archdiocese of Chicago)
Principal: Mrs. Janice DiVincenzo

Oak Elementary School
Hinsdale (Hinsdale CCSD 181)
Principal: Mr. Sean Walsh

Ogden Avenue Elementary School
La Grange (La Grange School District 102)
Principal: Ms. Pattii Waldo

Park View Elementary School
Lombard (Lombard School District #44)
Principal: Mrs. Roberta Wallerstedt

Payton College Preparatory High School
Chicago (City of Chicago School District 299)
Principal: Mr. Timothy Devine

Prairie Hill Elementary School
South Beloit (Prairie Hill CCSD 133)
Principal: Mr. Kevin Finnegan

Prince of Peace Catholic School
Lake Villa (Roman Catholic)
Principal: Mrs. Elizabeth Brown

Rockland Elementary School
Libertyville (District #70)
Principal: Mr. Jeff Knapp

St. Cletus Elementary School
La Grange (Archdiocese of Chicago)
Principal: Ms. Margaret Hayes

St. Hubert School
Hoffman Estates (Archdiocese of Chicago)
Principal: Mr. Vito DeFrisco

St. John the Evangelist School
Streamwood (Archdiocese of Chicago)
Principal: Mrs. Mary Billmeyer

Saint Mary School
Buffalo Grove (Archdiocese of Chicago)
Principal: Mrs. Nikki Raftery

Saint Viator High School
Arlington Heights (Roman Catholic)
Principal: Mrs. Eileen Manno

The School of Saints Faith, Hope & Charity
Winnetka (Archdiocese of Chicago)
Principal: Mrs. Kathleen Carden

Seventh Avenue Elementary School
La Grange (La Grange School District 105 South)
Principal: Mrs. Erin Hall

Spring Avenue Elementary School
LaGrange (La Grange School District 105 South)
Principal: Mrs. Elizabeth Peterman

Stella May Swartz Elementary School
Oakbrook Terrace (Salt Creek School District 48)
Principal: Mrs. Angeline Ross

White Heath Elementary School
White Heath (Monticello Community Unit School District #25)
Principal: Mrs. Emily Weidner

About the Author

Paul Katula
Paul Katula is the executive editor of the Voxitatis Research Foundation, which publishes this blog. For more information, see the About page.