National Blue Ribbon Schools 2014 – 10 in Maryland

The US Department of Education announced the 2014 National Blue Ribbon Schools in a webcast ceremony this afternoon. Over all, 337 schools, including 50 private schools, received the honor today from 47 states, the US Virgin Islands, and the Department of Defense in Germany and Japan.

The National Blue Ribbon Schools Program honors public and private elementary, middle, and high schools where students either achieve very high learning standards or are making notable improvements in closing the achievement gap. The award affirms the hard work of students, educators, families and communities in creating safe and welcoming schools where students master challenging content.

“These great schools are fulfilling the promise of American education: that all students, no matter their socioeconomic status or zip code, can flourish when schools provide safe, creative, and challenging learning environments,” said US Education Secretary Arne Duncan. “We celebrate them for their tireless effort and boundless creativity in reaching and teaching every student.”

Specifically, for the 2013-2014 award year, the department strengthened its consideration during the application review process of the performance of individual subgroups within a school and of improvements made in graduation rates.

“Each one of Maryland’s National Blue Ribbon Schools is an example of what is right with education in our state,” said Maryland State Superintendent of Schools Lillian M Lowery. “From teachers to administrators to communities, there is collaboration and educational support at these schools. This provides for students an outstanding foundation upon which to grow and thrive. These schools deserve our congratulations and admiration.”

“It is with great joy that we celebrate the accomplishment of three more Catholic schools [from Baltimore] being awarded the prestigious designation,” the Catholic Review quoted Superintendent of Schools Barbara Edmondson as saying in a release. “This academic honor reflects the excellence of our Catholic schools and the commitment of our outstanding teachers, students, and parents.”

We celebrate them all.

And we would be remiss not to point out an op-ed written by Baltimore’s archbishop, William E Lori, in the Baltimore Sun two days ago, in which he said private schools bring in money for the state and merit investment: “In 2010, we asked the Sage Policy Group to measure the quantitative impact of our schools. Sage found that in one year, Catholic schools in the Archdiocese of Baltimore save Maryland taxpayers over $380 million in per pupil expenses (Catholic and other nonpublic schools statewide save Maryland $1.5 billion) and provide an additional $393.3 million into the local economy in income and revenue annually.”

Here are the 10 Maryland schools:

From Maryland, 10 schools (6 public, 4 Catholic)

Cashell Elementary School
Rockville (Montgomery County Public Schools)
Principal: Ms. Maureen Ahern-Stamoulis

Frost Elementary School
Frostburg (Allegany County Public Schools)
Principal: Mrs. Kim Smith

Immaculate Conception School
Towson (Archdiocese of Baltimore)
Principal: Mrs. Madeline Meaney

Linthicum Elementary School
Linthicum (Anne Arundel County)
Principal: Ms. Frances Nussle

Mount Aviat Academy
Childs (Catholic, Oblate Sisters of St. Francis de Sales)
Principal: Sr. John Elizabeth Callaghan

Northern Garrett High School
Accident (Garrett County Public Schools)
Principal: Mr. Gary Reichenbecher

Our Lady Of Grace School
Parkton (Archdiocese of Baltimore)
Principal: Mr. Jeffrey Dudley

Robert Goddard French Immersion Elementary/Middle School
Greenbelt (Prince George’s County Public Schools)
Principal: Mr. Nasser Abi

School of the Cathedral of Mary Our Queen
Baltimore (Archdiocese of Baltimore)
Principal: Dr. Jane Towery

Western School of Technology and Environmental Science
Baltimore (Baltimore County Public Schools)
Principal: Mr. Murray Parker

About the Author

Paul Katula
Paul Katula is the executive editor of the Voxitatis Research Foundation, which publishes this blog. For more information, see the About page.