Friday, December 6, 2019
US flag

Teacher of the Year finalists announced

State education leaders in our two home states, Maryland and Illinois, have finished announcing the list of finalists for their respective Teachers of the Year.

Illinois has 10 finalists

The Illinois State Board of Education announced the finalists for the 2018 Illinois Teacher of the Year on August 21. The ISBE will name one individual from the 10 finalists as the 2018 Illinois Teacher of the Year during the “Those Who Excel” banquet on October 28.

“The Those Who Excel program honors and celebrates some of Illinois’s most exemplary teachers at every level,” said State Superintendent of Education Tony Smith. “Every student deserves to feel like they belong. Our 10 Teacher of the Year finalists are outstanding representatives of educators who continuously go above and beyond to make students feel well known and well cared for. Their level of commitment, their passion, and their dedication is evident in their strong relationships with students, colleagues, and families within their communities.”

  1. Valarie Berger teaches family and consumer sciences at West Leyden High School in Franklin Park (Leyden High School District 212)
  2. James Connelly is an industrial technology teacher at Morton West High School in Berwyn, (J Sterling Morton High School District 201)
  3. Teresa Eden is a Title 1 reading teacher at Monroe Center Grade School in Monroe Center (Meridian Community Unit School District 223)
  4. William Farmer teaches biology and chemistry at Evanston Township High School in Evanston (District 202)
  5. Lindsey Jensen teaches English at Dwight Township High School in Dwight (Dwight Public Schools District 230)
  6. Erin Miller is a fourth-grade teacher at Brimfield Grade School in Brimfield (Brimfield Unit District 309)
  7. Jamie Nash-Mayberry teaches social studies at Shawnee High School in Wolf Lake (Shawnee Community Unit School District 84)
  8. Angie Noble is a third-grade teacher at Jerseyville East Elementary School in Jerseyville (Jersey Community Unit School District 100)
  9. Faith Skinner teaches math in sixth grade at Emily G Johns School in Plano (Plano Community Unit School District 88)
  10. Morgan Teske is a special education teacher in grades 9-12 at East High School in Rockford (Rockford Public School District 205)

Maryland has seven finalists

Karen Salmon, the Maryland state superintendent of schools, announced the names of seven finalists for 2017-2018 Maryland Teacher of the Year yesterday.

“Maryland teachers continue to strive for excellence and the work that these exceptional educators demonstrate reflects the dedication present in educators throughout the State,” she said. “Our state’s educators provide our students with guidance and knowledge that reach far past the classroom and promote life-long learning.”

  1. Joshua Carroll teaches 10th grade STEM subjects at South River High School in Edgewater (Anne Arundel County Public Schools)
  2. Maddy Halbach teaches financial literacy to 11th and 12th graders at the Academy of Finance in Ellicott City (Howard County Public Schools)
  3. Justin Holbrook is a fourth-grade math and science teacher at Roland Park Elementary/Middle School in Baltimore (Baltimore City Public Schools)
  4. Amy E Mangold is a pre-K and kindergarten special education teacher at John Archer School in Bel Air (Harford County Public Schools)
  5. Keith McHugh is an English teacher at Century High School in Sykesville (Carroll County Public Schools)
  6. Heather Roth is an elementary music teacher at Broad Ford and Crellin elementary schools in Oakland (Garrett County Public Schools)
  7. Katie Fox is a kindergarten teacher at Tilghman Elementary School on Tilghman Island (Talbot County Public Schools)

As with the Illinois Teacher of the Year, the winner will go on to compete for the National Teacher of the Year Award, which will be announced in April. The Maryland State Department of Education will announce the state’s Teacher of the Year on October 27 in Baltimore.

Paul Katula is the executive editor of the Voxitatis Research Foundation, which publishes this blog. For more information, see the About page.

Recent posts

Girls’ volleyball champs in Illinois

We congratulate the Illinois state champions in girls' volleyball: Newark, St Teresa, Sterling, & Benet Academy.

A weekend of ‘band geeks’ across America

The musical Band Geeks was in performance at a MD high school, just as marching bands from across America named a national champion.

2 dead, 3 wounded in Calif. school shooting

Another school shooting has resulted in the death of 2 California high school students. The suspect shot himself and is in custody.

Mercury makes a transit; next in 2032

A transit of Mercury occurred today and was visible from the US, provided you had sunny skies. It was one of longest possible transits.

On the Naperville BWW racist incident

A racist incident at a Naperville, IL, sports bar indicates that the threads of racism are strong, perhaps as strong as ever.

IL bill could excuse absences to vote

A proposed law in IL could give students up to two hours during the school day so they could vote in the upcoming election.

Loan forgiveness gains some bipartisan support

One Republican from GA, who used to work under Betsy DeVos at the US Education Dept, offers a plan to forgive some student loan debt.

A band teacher is IL Teacher of the Year

IL named a band teacher the 2020 Teacher of the Year on Oct. 19. He individualizes music instruction and shares his work with 1000s.

‘Little Shop of Horrors’ bookends Halloween

Several high schools have decided to add a little spook to their musical stages in this season of Halloween. Music makes it happen.

New IL law ensures inclusion of LGBTQ+

A law will take effect next school year in IL that will require students to study LGBTQ history as part of the social studies curriculum.

MoCo doubles down on summer learning loss

Research is at least equivocal about summer learning loss, but maybe there's something to a new plan in Montgomery County, Md.