IL state champs in debate

We congratulate Glenbrook North, Evanston Township, and Schaumburg high schools on their Illinois state championships in debate.

The championship rounds took place on the campus of the University of Illinois, Springfield, during the weekend of March 20-21.

In the Policy Debate Division, Ryan Spector and Anthony Trufanov of Glenbrook North High School in Northbrook, coached by Michael Greenstein, Stephen Pipkin, and Kevin McCaffrey, defeated a team from Niles North High School in Skokie that included Luc Walkington and D’Angelo Oberto-Besso Pando.

In the Lincoln-Douglas Debate Division, Joey Schnide of Evanston Township High School, coached by Jeffrey Hannan, Chuck Carra, Clare Delgado, Erik Baker, Noah Whinston, Sydney Doe, and Trey Cobb, defeated Nathaniel Leonhardt of Schaumburg High School.

In the Congressional Debate Division, Melissa Tran of Schaumburg High School, coached by Darrell Robin, Carl Schwartz, Mick Sellergren, Elisa Galvan, Nancy Israel, Mike Knitter, Brook Leonhardt, and Sam Haque, defeated Jacob Zionts of Highland Park High School.

Finally, in the Public Forum Debate Division, the team of Kevin Klyman and Graham Strauss of Evanston Township High School defeated Ally Arena and Bill Kolpak of Carl Sandburg High School in Orland Park.

About the Author

Paul Katula
Paul Katula is the executive editor of the Voxitatis Research Foundation, which publishes this blog. For more information, see the About page.